Emerging Strategies for Hands-on Learning

(12:30 pm NDT; 12:00 pm ADT; 10:00 am CDT; 9:00 am MDT; 8:00 am PDT)

LINKS COMING OUT OF THE WEBINAR

Hands-on Learning 1. Animals to 13. Relational

https://bit.ly/AtoRhands-on

 

  1. STEM  (Engineering, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Math, Mining, Water resources…)

https://bit.ly/STEMhands-on

 

  1. Human Health & Anatomy (Nursing, Medicine, Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, massage, paramedic, midwifery, Diagnostic and medical device, pharmacy…)

https://bit.ly/Health-hands-on

 

 

This 1-hour collaborative session will focus on the challenge of hands-on learning across labs, research experiences, design experiences, teaching, practicums, etc.

We will have an opening poll and a full group google doc brainstorm then facilitated breakout rooms, and full group report back. During the brainstorm, everyone can post challenges and strategies for the different disciplinary contexts listed. We are seeking facilitators for the break-out rooms.

Call for Facilitators – email edc_communications@stlhe.ca
Each breakout group would be responsible for sorting through the suggestions, sharing their own ideas and co-creating a summary of challenges and strategies in the google document. The approach to facilitate can be your usual style. After the breakout rooms, each facilitator will provide a 1 minute verbal summary.

Current Topics: – email edc_communications@stlhe.ca to suggest further topics.
(Groups may form sub-breakout sessions depending on numbers)

  1. Animal Clinical (Veterinary Tech, Veterinarian…)
  2. Automotive/Machinery (commercial pilot, heavy equipment, automotive technician, MRI operator, large scale diagnostic or experimental equipment)
  3. Children/Youth (Developmental Psychology, Early childhood educators, B.Ed. programs, Youth care…)
  4. Creative/Design (Materials…)
  5. Digital Design (Software-based illustration, computer science, graphic design…)
  6. Hospitality/Tourism
  7. Human Body care (hairstylist, esthetician, funeral…)
  8. House construction/Building/Trades (Plumbing, Electrical, carpentry, construction, civil engineering…
  9. Indigenous traditional teaching (across disciplinary areas)
  10. Languages
  11. Leadership, Business, Human resources
  12. Performance (music, drama, dance, acting, lighting, production, directing)
  13. Relational/Intervention (counseling, social work, policing, …)
  14. Human Health & Anatomy (Nursing, Medicine, Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, massage, paramedic, midwifery, Diagnostic and medical device, pharmacy…)
  15. STEM (Engineering, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Math, Mining, Water resources…)

info

This website will be constantly evolving as we add resources. To add resources or webpages, or to suggest an additional sub-page, email: edc_communications@stlhe.ca or use the contact form.